As One Listens to the Rain

Grade: 5

Duration: 6'30"

Composed October - November, 2011 in Los Angeles

Premiere Performance: Dec. 8, 2012 - IUP Symphony Band, Dr. Jason Worzbyt conducting

Published by Boosey & Hawkes Windependence Series | Available from J.W. Pepper, BandMusicDirect, and many other fine retailers

As One Listens to the Rain is a marriage of two distinct musical ideas.  The first, a solitary, solemn melody, is introduced in the trumpet and cloaked in an aura of slowly shifting, transparent harmonies. This idea soon gives way to flowing lines and falling gestures which serve to invoke an image of cascading rainfall. A hymn-like interlude provides a brief respite before the return of the rain which, in this final form, spins and tumbles over itself.

The title is taken from a poem by Octavio Paz, which captures the same duality that is the impetus for the music:

Listen to me as one listens to the rain,

not attentive, not distracted,

light footsteps, thin drizzle,

water that is air, air that is time,

the day is still leaving,

the night has yet to arrive,

figurations of mist

at the turn of the corner,

figurations of time

at the bend in this pause,

listen to me as one listens to the rain


Octavio Paz, A Tree Within (1988)


Flutes 1.2.3


Clarinets in B-flat 1.2.3

Bass Clarinet

Alto Saxophones 1.2

Tenor Saxophone

Baritone Saxophone


Horns in F

Trumpets in B-flat 1.2.3

Tenor Trombones 1.2

Bass Trombone



Harp (optional)


Percussion 1 - Chimes, Crotales, Suspended Cymbal, Tam-tam, Wind Chimes

Percussion 2 - Bass Drum, Suspended Cymbal, Vibraphone

Percussion 3 - Bass Drum, Glockenspiel